Special Economic Zones and Industrial Parks

Investment Opportunities within Government Special Economic Zones cum Industrial Parks:

Tanzania offers generous fiscal incentives under the Export Processing Zone/Special Economic Zone (EPZ/SEZ) schemes to attract Foreign Direct Investments (FDIs) and Domestic Direct Investments (DDIs). Any investor can qualify to invest under Special Economic Zone Scheme provided he fulfills only these simple criteria.

  • The investment must be new.
  • Annual export turnover should not be less than US$ 5 million for foreign investors and US$ 1 million for local investors.
  • Adequate environmental protection systems.
  • Utilization of modern production processes and new machinery.
  •  Investments must only be located in SEZ industrial parks.

Available Opportunities:

An investor might choose to invest but not limited to the following sectors:

  • Agriculture and agricultural products
  • Metal products, machinery, and transport equipment.
  • Electronics and electrical appliances
  • Chemical, paper, and plastics.
  • Light industries.
  •  Mining, ceramics, and gemstones


Investment Opportunities within Government Special Economic Zones cum Industrial Parks

The Government is developing Industrial Parks in Tanzania as a platform to support industrialization the first Government-owned Industrial Park was built in 2006 at Mabibo External Dar es Salaam, which has been demonstrated to be a successful proof of the concept for the establishment of Industrial Parks in Tanzania with diverse industrial activities. the following are industrial parks owned by the Central Government.

1. Benjamini William Mkapa SEZ

Benjamin William Mkapa SEZ was the first Industrial Park to be established and owned by the Government which offers serviced land for lease to EPZ/SEZ investors. The Park is strategically located in the Mabibo External area, along Nelson Mandela Road; Dar es Salaam. The Park covers a total area of 65 Acres whereas industrial plots and factory buildings cover 74% of the area equivalent to 48 Acres. The Government through EPZA supervised the construction of infrastructure at BWM-SEZ in 2006.

The constructed infrastructure includes the serviced industrial plots; a clinic building, a cafeteria building, a shopping arcade, a water tank, a customs building, roads, streetlights, a fencing wall, and an administrative block with sufficient office space. A total of 14 projects mainly undertaking manufacturing activities for export; have been allocated the serviced plots at the park.

2. Bagamoyo SEZ

The Government through EPZA is developing a mega industrial cum commercial park known as Bagamoyo Special Economic Zone (“Bagamoyo SEZ”) on an area of 9,800 Hectares located in Bagamoyo, Coastal Region, 50km North of Dar es Salaam City. The project is being developed under the Special Economic Zone (SEZ) scheme and will provide EPZ and SEZ investors with world-class industrial infrastructure, efficient government services as well as lucrative fiscal and non-fiscal incentives. The Park has already accommodated 11 licensed companies, most of which are at different levels of development; with the exception of one which is fully operational. Investors are welcome to lease bare land for their development.

3. Nala Special Economic Zone

Nala Special Economic Zone covers an area totaling 1,500 Acres (Phase I -100 acres) and is located at Nala Ward, about 21 kilometers from Dodoma City Center alongside the Dodoma – Singida highway. The project site is near the Standard Gauge Railway (Less than 10 km). A phased development approach will be adopted with the start-up phase (Phase I) comprising the development of 100 acres.

The project site is connected with all the necessary supporting infrastructure (gravel road, electricity, water, and telephone communications) and has already attracted some prominent investments. Such is the ongoing construction of a large fertilizer factory, namely Intracom which is being constructed by investors from Burundi to a tune of TZS 400bn/- and upon completion, it is expected to have an annual capacity of producing a total of 600,000 tonnes of fertilizer and 300,000 tonnes of limestone.

4. Mtwara SEZ

Mtwara SEZ covers an area of 2,600 Hectares which was set aside for SEZ in Mtwara. Only 110 acres of land alongside Mtwara Port was declared in the Government Gazette as a Freeport Zone.

5. Tanga SEZ

The government of Tanzania has earmarked a project area that covers 1,363 Ha of land in the Tanga region, at the Neema area for the Special Economic Zones project. Compensation has been done on the area covering 750 Ha. Tanga City has been identified as the proposed location for the establishment of the development cluster as a point of entry consisting of various core infrastructure programs required for Tanga City to evolve as the eastern gateway for the northern regions. This city has been identified to operate as the international gateway to the region through the Tanga – Dodoma super corridor and as a hub for international trade and commerce. Investors are also welcome for joint development of the industrial parks with the Government. The site is connected to the National electricity grid, and Water is also available in the area from the TANGA WSSA and can be connected upon application, Water supply in Tanga City is very reliable and the area is Close to Tanga- Pangani Road.

6. Bunda - Mara SEZ

The land is surveyed, planned, fully compensated, and is owned by the Government under The Export Processing Zone Authority (EPZA) and reserved for industrial development. Bunda is one of the cotton production areas in Tanzania. 5km west of Bunda Town in Guta Ward, 67km from Musoma Town, Mara Region, the area covers 1,284 hectares (3173 acres) with different plot sizes ranging from 2 to 4 hectares (5-10 acres).

7. Manyara

EPZA has an investment area of 500 hectares equivalent to 1253 acres. The area is located in the Manyara Region in the small town of Mererani in Simanyiro district. The area is accessible by road, electricity, and water. The Government is currently in the early stages of developing the area by putting in place all the enabling infrastructures within the area so that they can be used for industrial purposes and economic activities.

8. Kigamboni

9. Ruvuma

10. Manyoni




Updated on: Thursday, May 16th, 2024