Guangdong Free Trade Zone

The Guangdong Free Trade Zone (GFTZ) is a special economic zone located in the southern province of Guangdong, China. Established in 2015, the GFTZ covers an area of over 116 square kilometers and includes three separate zones: Nansha in Guangzhou, Qianhai, and Shekou in Shenzhen.

The GFTZ aims to promote trade, investment, and financial cooperation between China and the rest of the world. The zone offers a range of preferential policies and measures, such as simplified customs procedures, tax incentives, and relaxed regulations on foreign investment. The GFTZ is becoming an increasingly popular destination for foreign investors looking to enter the Chinese market, particularly in the sectors of finance, logistics, and technology.

Started: 2015

Location: 3 major cities in Guangdong province

Guangzhou: Nansha District, New Area and port

Shenzhen: Qianhai District, Development Zone

Zhuhai: Hengqin District, New Area

Industries of interest: International trade and finance


  • Lower corporate tax rates between 15% and 9%
  • Import tax exemption until goods are moved out of the SEZ (out of the warehouse)
  • Free currency exchange rate (no fees for converting major currencies)
  • A fast and streamlined customs clearance.
  • A hub of transportation, pick and pack and logistic service providers to choose from. All nearby.
  • Faster VAT refund




Updated on : Tuesday,March 12th, 2024